Late Summer Berry Torte

star rating (32) rate this recipe »
quick-n-easy
Recipe photo
Hands-on time:
Baking time:
Total time:
Yield: One cake, about 10 servings.

Recipe photo

This dense, thin, fruit-filled cake showcases luscious end-of-summer fruits: raspberries, blueberries, Italian prune plums, blackberries... Take your pick, or mix and match.

And, when summer fades into fall, and it's time to think about Thanksgiving desserts, this recipe can be turned into a luscious cranberry cake — see the tip below for directions.

Read our blog about this cake, with additional photos, at Flourish.

Late Summer Berry Torte

star rating (32) rate this recipe »
quick-n-easy
Hands-on time:
Baking time:
Total time:
Yield: One cake, about 10 servings.
Published: 01/01/2010

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon Buttery Sweet Dough Flavor or 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia, optional
  • 1 cup King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 cups berries or 12 Italian prune plums, halved
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar mixed with 1 teaspoon cinnamon, to sprinkle on top

Tips from our bakers

  • Here's a tasty variation for Thanksgiving: Cranberry Cake. Line a lightly greased 8" round cake pan with parchment or waxed paper; grease the paper. Make the cake batter, and spread it in the pan. Bake the cake in a preheated 350°F oven for 10 minutes. Remove it from the oven, and quickly and carefully top with 2 cups (8 ounces) fresh cranberries. Sprinkle the cranberries with 1/3 cup granulated sugar + 2 tablespoons coarse sparkling sugar; or with 1/2 cup granulated sugar. Bake the cake for an additional 45 minutes, until a cake tester or toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Remove from the oven, and serve warm — as is, or topped with ice cream or whipped cream.

Directions

see this recipe's blog »

1) Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease an 8" or 9" square pan, or 9" or 10" round pan.

2) Beat together the butter, sugar, baking powder, and salt till smooth.

3) Add the eggs, beating till thoroughly combined. The mixture may look somewhat coagulated; that's OK. Stir in the vanilla and optional flavor.

4) Add the flour, mixing to make a smooth, stiff batter.

5) Spread the batter in the pan. In the larger-sized pans, the batter will be spread fairly thin; that's OK.

6) Spread the berries or plums on top. If you use plums, place them with their skins up. Sprinkle with the cinnamon-sugar.

7) Bake the cake for about 35 to 40 minutes, till a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean, and the cake showing around the berries is a light golden brown. Remove it from the oven, and serve warm, or at room temperature.

8) Yield: one cake, about 10 servings.

Reviews

1 234  All  
  • star rating 08/14/2014
  • Bell from
  • Heaven. Pure simple delicious heaven. I used rasberries and it came out perfectly.
  • star rating 08/03/2014
  • kate from London, England
  • This torte is so ridiculously easy and so delicious for the little effort it takes that I feel fraudulent when friends say how clever I am to bake something this wonderful. It is now firmly part of my entertaining repertoire.
  • 07/20/2014
  • Kit Kat from Victoria, BC
  • I am wondering about the technique of adding the baking powder to the butter/sugar mix. The moisture will activate the bkg pwdr, & the continued beating .. will it not exhaust the leavening (the slow acting portion) with all the beating/mixing? Is there an advantage to adding the bkg pwdr as described vs whisking it into the flour? Thanks.
    The baking powder will be well-distributed throughout the batter, if you blend it with the butter. We find that the cake rises quite well. If you prefer, I think you could sift the baking powder with the flour.~Jaydl@KAF
  • star rating 06/29/2014
  • Suible from Phoenix
  • Very easy. I used plumicots, I think that is what they are called - cross between apricots and plums. I cut back on the cinnamon sugar because I thought the fruit was sweet enough. Woulda been better if I had used more sugar or sweetener. Still, the taste was GREAT!! Planning on making this for Fourth of July - with raspberries, strawberries, and blueberries. With ice cream. I can't wait.
  • star rating 06/20/2014
  • Cedarglen from KAF Community
  • Oh, YES! This is the dense, perhaps a bit greasy cake that slogged after for a couple of years, trying to duplicate my Grandmother's Prune Cake - using Italian Prune Plums. Any reasonable fruit will stand in: I just made one with the last of my '13 blueberries. I usually use 1.5 the suggested fruit and yes, it can become more fruit than cake, but that's the way we like it. (Note: Using more fruit may require a slight increase in baking time. The usual toothpick or thermo test works just fine. This super-rich cake screams for small portions and vanilla ice cream, but I thrive on a 4" square. I'm not sure why, but this simple cake, packed with available fruit, satisfies multiple cravings. If you have the fresh fruit available, it IS worth the small effort.
  • star rating 01/24/2014
  • sharon from longmeadow ma.
  • I love this receipe I've made it with many different fruits and nuts.and because i am diabetic i use splenda and it comes out great, I do sift the splenda
  • star rating 10/08/2013
  • Lydia from Oakland, CA
  • Unbelievably tasty and easy to make! I used a package of frozen berries and the only thing that changed was the time of baking. Delicious!
  • star rating 09/15/2013
  • from
  • I made this for my mother and she ended up owning one entire half of the torte. Loved this!
  • star rating 09/06/2013
  • stonejm3 from KAF Community
  • Made this with small black plums (not Italian plums) and it came out gorgeous and scrumptious! We brought it to a Labor Day cookout and it was a huge hit! This will be a regular recipe (my recipe box is getting stuffed! !!) - thanks again KAF!
1 234  All  
bakershotline

Related recipes